VSware Login    Principal Nicola Connolly secretary@delasalle.ie    042 9331179


Student Award Ceremony 2022/2023


The De La Salle College recently celebrated the many and varied achievements and successes of its students for the school year 2021-2022. Covid restrictions and social distancing being a thing of the past meant that the Annual Awards Ceremony, which is one of the highlights of the College’s calendar, could be held in person in the school. We were once again able to celebrate all the students’ curricular and extra-curricular activities due to the reintroduction of all sports, trips and all other activities that were sorely missed during the pandemic.

There were over 170 awards handed out on the night, ranging between academic, endeavour, sports, extra-curricular activities and ethos. Ms. Connolly was on hand to congratulate all the winners and to thank to all the students, their parents and all the staff in the College on their hard work and dedication over the last year.

As always, a vast array of awards were presented. Amongst the recipients were Neil Gartlan, winner of the Brendan McCooey Memorial Senior Student of the Year Award and James Spain, winner of the Br. Brendan Collier Memorial Junior Student of the Year Award.

The winner of the Best Leaving Cert results Award for 2022 went to Sean Havern who achieved a remarkable 5 H1s. The award for Best Junior Cert results went to James Spain who scored an amazing 8 distinctions.

Sporting endeavour was also recognised with Player of the Year awards given for each sport in the school. Overall Senior Sports person went to Neil Gartlan with Junior Sports person going to Pearce Murphy Grimes.

One of the most prestigious awards that the college presents, the Lasallian Spirit Award, was won by sixth year student Philip Hryhorchuk. Students were shortlisted for this award and all received recognition of the huge contribution their positive attitude, Christian values and leadership qualities have made to the school.


This year also saw the continuation of the George and Patricia Moore Scholarship Awards, inaugurated in 2009 by the late George Moore, past pupil, and kindly continued by his family. Sean Havern and Eoin Byrne were the winners of the Patricia Moore and the George Moore Scholarships, respectively.

There was a special award presented on the night to Aidan Keaskin, who’s attendance over his 5 years in the college in exemplary. You could literally count on one hand the days he has missed in his five years.

Two groups received special mention this year: the YSI (Young Social Innovators) who did amazing work around Mens Mental Health and achieved the Amber flag for the College; and the Senior and Junior Gael Linn Irish Debating teams who both reached the National Finals, carrying on the school tradition in this prestigious competition.

The school recognised special guest, Mr. Jarlath Holland from the Leaving Certificate class of 1996 as an Illustrious Alumni and he gave an inspirational speech to all those in attendance about the importance of working towards your goals regardless of any setbacks you face along the way

The full list of winners along with the Awards pictures can be viewed on the school’s website: www.delasalle.ie